Starting a home daycare can be a challenging, yet rewarding experience. If you are interested in learning how to start a California home daycare, then you will want to continue reading to discover the current laws and regulations regarding California home child care provider licenses.
Prior to submitting an application for a California home daycare license, you are required to undergo a mandatory training orientation seminar. This seminar is given throughout the state and all throughout the year. As of 2011, this orientation requires a $25.00 fee, and it will provide you with all of the basic information you will need to know to progress in the licensing process. Again, this orientation is not optional and if you submit an application without first attending the orientation seminar the application will not be reviewed.
In order to obtain a California home daycare license, you must be at least 18 years old and have completed the following Preventative Health Practices training: 15 hours in Pediatric CPR, Pediatric First Aid and Preventive Practices. You must submit copies of course certificates along with the completed application.
You will be required to submit a criminal background check for your (the primary caregiver) your spouse (if applicable) and any other adult aged 18 years or older living within the home. You will also be required to submit a tuberculosis clearance test for all adults aged 18 years or older living in the home.
As for experience requirements, if you are applying for a Large Family Child Care Home License, which is a home caring for 14 children, then you will need to have at least 12 months of work experience at a Small Family Child Care Home or as a teacer/director/administrator at a Child Care Center.
You will also be required to pass a home inspection performed by the California Community Care Division. Information regarding this inspection and what you may be required to do to your home is located in the sources section of this article.
Personnel (Staff) Requirements:
All caregivers within the home are required to complete a total of 7 hours of Preventing Health Practices training, 4 hours in Pediatric CPR and 4 hours in Pediatric First Aid. Along with keeping records of the training requirements, all staff is required to undergo a criminal background check and records regarding the staff are to be kept for at least 3 years, even after the personnel member has been fired or resigned.
California Department of Social Services: License Application and Instructions for Family Child Care Homes
California Department of Social Services: Pre-Orientation Registration Information
California Department of Social Services: Family Child Care Home Licensing Regulation Highlights
California Department of Social Services: Family Child Care Home Licensing
Rating: 4 out of 5